National Innovation Council

Realising that innovation is the engine for the growth of prosperity and national competitiveness in the 21st century, the President of India has declared 2010 as the ‘Decade of Innovation’. Read More

NInC Initiatives

State/Sectoral innovation council                                                                                                                                        Industry/ University Innovation Clusters Read More

International Collaboration

Analysing the Innovation perspectives around the globe. Read More

National Innovation Council NInC Initiatives International Collaboration

C-DOT Manufacturers’ Conference Begin

C-DOT Manufacturers’ Conference Begin Shri Sam Pitroda, Advisor to the Prime Minister on Public Information Infrastructure and Innovations today inaugurated a two day C-DOT Manufactuters’ Conference. The Centre for Development of Telematics (C-DOT), the premier telecom technology development centre of the Government of India has organized this Conference in an effort to rejuvenate the Indigenous Telecom R&D and Manufacturing Eco-system.

Speaking on the occasion, Shri V V R Sastry, Executive Director, C-DOT said that this Conference is aimed at reminding the telecom fraternity that C-DOT has the competencies and the technologies to give greater support to indigenous R&D and Manufacturing in telecom sector. He further said that C-DOT has been holding the Manufacturers’ Conferences regularly in the past as a forum to announce new products and discuss issues of mutual interest. C-DOT has been instrumental in setting up a requisite production infrastructure for state-of-the-art technology manufacturing in the country with associated eco-system through a comprehensive C-DOT Transfer-of-Technology (ToT) Package. This has been the hallmark for converting R&D concept from lab-to-manufacturing and then to the field deployments to fulfill the objectives of National Telecom Policy (NTP)-2011. The Centre had been in the technology forefront and significantly contributed in the Indian Telecom Network digitization, bridging the digital divide between urban and rural, establishing strong telecom manufacturing infrastructure and employment generation. It also develops standards based contemporary telecom technologies, best suited to Indian needs, and transfers them to the industry through a Transfer of Technology (ToT) agreement. The ToT package of C-DOT is comprehensive and tailor-made to enable the technology recipient to go into production very quickly. C-DOT effectively hand holds everything right from setting up of manufacturing infrastructure, to ironing out manufacturing problems, finding reliable vendors or solving problems reported from field. Starting from the single mission of providing a dial tone, C-DOT has grown, over the last 26 years, to the level of a national centre for Research and Development in communication technology in many areas –Satellite communications, IN, ATM, DWDM, NMS, Wireless Broadband, GPON, NGN and Mobile Cellular systems. The Gigabit Passive Optical Network (GPON) is expected to play a lead role in bringing broadband pipes to rural India and new infrastructure like multi-dwelling units, Campuses, large networks and Public utility buildings. The Shared GSM Roaming Access Network (SG-RAN) product, based on sharing of active GSM infrastructure, will bring affordable mobile telephony to the rural market. C-DOT’s umbrella Network Management System (NMS) solutions have made it possible to manage networks with elements from multiple vendors. The Data Clearing House (CLH) solution of C-DOT is commercially deployed for reconciling the roaming records between BSNL and MTNL. The quality of service and price to performance ratio of C-DOT are competitive and attractive in global competition. C-DOT has already signed ToT Agreements for GPON with Indian Telephone Industries Ltd. (ITI), Bharat Electronics Ltd (BEL), VMC Systems Ltd, United Telecoms Ltd. (UTL), Sai InfoSystem (India) Limited, S M Creative Electronics Ltd. etc. for indigenous manufacturing. In addition, ToT has also been signed with M/s Tejas Networks Limited for customized development. Shri Ajay Shankar, Secretary NMCC, Prof S V Raghavan, Scientific Secretary, Office of (Principal Scientific Advisor (PSA), Shri S R Rao, Additional Secretary, Department of Telecommunications, Shri R K Upadhyay, CMD, BSNL and Shri Kuldip Singh, Director (T), MTNL also attended.

Source: PIB , 10-January, 2012

BCMath lib not installed. RSA encryption unavailable