National Innovation Council

Realising that innovation is the engine for the growth of prosperity and national competitiveness in the 21st century, the President of India has declared 2010 as the ‘Decade of Innovation’. Read More

NInC Initiatives

State/Sectoral innovation council                                                                                                                                        Industry/ University Innovation Clusters Read More

International Collaboration

Analysing the Innovation perspectives around the globe. Read More

National Innovation Council NInC Initiatives International Collaboration

Sectoral Innovation Councils

In order to drive innovative strategies in key sectors and create multiple roadmaps the NInC is encouraging the creation of multiple Sectoral Innovation Councils aligned to Union Government Ministries which would enhance innovation capabilities in respective sectors. Letters were sent from the Chairman, NInC to all the Union Government Ministers followed by a workshop for Secretaries. Further to which the following sectors aligned to Union Ministries have constituted the Council.


S.No Ministry Date Notification Reports
1. Department of Telecommunications
(Ministry of Communications and IT)

2. Ministry of Steel 06.04.2011
3. Ministry of Commerce and Industry
1. Department of Commerce 06.05.2011
2. Department of Industrial Policy
and Promotion
4. Ministry of Health & Family Welfare 13.05.2011

5. Ministry of Heavy Industries 12.05.2011
6. Ministry of Shipping 16.05.2011
7. Ministry of MSME 25.05.2011
8. Ministry of Law & Justice 08.06.2011
9. Ministry of Civil Aviation 09.06.2011
10. Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports 15.06.2011
12. Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, Department of Fertilizers 27.06.2011

13. Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas 28.06.2011

14. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting 28.07.2011

15. Ministry of Railways 23.08.2011
16. Ministry of Labour and Employment
1. Simplification and Amalgamation of Labour Laws 25.08.2011
2. Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana 25.08.2011
3. Occupational Safety and Health 25.08.2011
17. Ministry of Power 01.11.2011

18. Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals 14.12.2011
19. Ministry of Science and Technology 04.01.2012


Ministry of Communications & Information Technology, Department of Information Technology



Ministry of Tribal Affairs


Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation

23. Innovation Council on Nanoelectronics
(Department of Information Technology)
24. Ministry of HRD 18.02.2013
25. Ministry of Textiles
26. Grameen Vikas 2-11-2012

>>Brief note on Sectoral Innovation Councils


>>View Presentation



BCMath lib not installed. RSA encryption unavailable